Denis Villeneuve’s ENEMY At San Sebastian Festival

What more could one ask for a birthday present? In my case, that must be some fresh news about Jake’s most anticipated movie, ENEMY, that will premiere at the San Sebastian Festival in Madrid, Spain.

From Variety

A co-production between Canada (Rhombus Media) and Spain (Roxbury Pics), “Enemy” – Villeneuve’s follow-up to the Oscar-nominated “Incendies,” was shot in Toronto from April 2012 before Villeneuve took on Warner Bros.-distribbed “Prisoners.”

“Enemy” stars Jake Gyllenhaal as a man who discovers his double, (Gyllenhaal again), lives close by. With “Prisoners” world preeming at Toronto, “Enemy’s” San Sebastian berth gives Villeneuve the singular distinction of having two movies in major near back-to-back festivals.

Sorry for the lame post but I’m still into the woods ( Ha!) and had a drink too many to celebrate another year gone by but boy am I giddy with this news. I wish it were Venice but Madrid sounds as good a European festival as any to finally, finally!, start promoting the film.

Now, a trailer would be the icing on the cake, MY cake!

For now, here’s Pathe’ UK official synopsis

ENEMY tells the story of a university lecturer named Adam (Academy Award nominee Jake Gyllenhaal) who is nearing the end of a relationship with his girlfriend Mary (Melanie Laurent). One night, while watching a film, Adam spots a minor actor who looks just like him. Consumed by the desire to meet his double, Adam tracks down Anthony, an actor living with his pregnant wife Helen (Sarah Gadon) and engages him in a tense, complex and ultimately lethal struggle. Directed by Denis Villeneuve (the Academy Award nominated director of Incendies), and based on the novel The Double by Nobel Prize winning author Jose Saramago, the film is a haunting and provocative psychosexual thriller about duality and identity, where in the end only one man will win. The film, which also stars Isabella Rossellini as Adam’s mother, was produced by Niv Fichman and Miguel Angel Faura, and adapted for the screen by Javier Gullon.

If I weren’t eager before, now I’m totes psyched.

Happy Birthday to me!

20130726-221732.jpg

14 thoughts on “Denis Villeneuve’s ENEMY At San Sebastian Festival

  1. Happy Birthday to you! Celebrated in the woods? Great idea. I hope, you are in a good, human’s company on your day. Not only squirrels and birds?
    San Sebastian is a good films’ festival, famous in Europe. I wish, I could go there to meet Jake. Jake promoting his movies is quite opened to his fans. I count on many interviews. They made a sexual thriller of it, but I won’t complain. Not at all!

    • Thank you mermon! Nah, not only squirrels but fine looking human beings as well 😉 I hope Enemy will be well received at the festival in Madrid. I have a friend there who I haven’t seen in a long while, who knows, I might pack my bags again very soon 😉

  2. Happy birthday bud!wish you the best, enjoy your time and have fun!now we have “just” to wait for the trailer…ps leo rocks! 😉

    • Thanks Susan, belated yes but much appreciated. I think I’ll take the opportunity and go visit a friend in Madrid, how does that sound? I can’t possibly wait for who knows how long before it gets released!

  3. Pingback: Sitting For A Chat With Jake Gyllenhaal | GYLLENCRAZY

Leave a comment