Jake Gyllenhaal ‘Out Of The Woods’ – Disappointed?

Not me. I probably would have cringed during the whole film. Sorry, not into fairy tales or musicals here. Here’s a short version of the flood of news that surfaced these past hours (and right before I leave for the holidays!). I’ll have to borrow an article, no time to analyze or extrapolate.

Tell me what you’re more looking forward to among Jake’s next (many!) projects, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Source Collider

The Disney musical Into the Woods technically follows a baker and his wife (played by James Corden and Emily Blunt) on a quest to reverse a curse that keeps them from starting a family.  But the sell is in the twist: the couple encounter fairy tale characters like Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, and Rapunzel along the way.  Director Rob Marshall recruited a stellar cast to portray the Brothers Grimm creations, including Johnny Depp, Meryl Streep, Chris Pine, Christine Baranski, Tracey Ullman, Anna Kendrick, and Jake Gyllenhaal.

Unfortunately, we have to scratch that last name.  Gyllenhaal had to bow out of the project due to scheduling issues with the independent thriller Nightcrawler.  Details after the jump.

According to The Wrap, Marshall required Gyllenhaal to be on the Woodsset several days in October and November to play Cinderella’s prince. Nightcrawler, which Gyllenhaal is also producing, just got the greenlight for a five-week shoot starting in October.  Gyllenhaal wanted to try to do both, but in the end could not make the dates work.

Dan Gilroy‘s script for Nightcrawler centers on a young freelance journalist who explores L.A. by night while working the crime beat.  Rene Russoco-stars.  This is Gilroy’s directorial debut after co-writing The Bourne Legacy with his writer/director brother Tony Gilroy.

Gyllenhaal will next be seen opposite Hugh Jackman (who has somehow not been cast in Into the Woods) in Prisoners.  Earlier today we learned Gyllenhaal is in talks alongside Josh Brolin, John Hawkes, and Jason Clarke to star in Everest.

Video-Jake-Gyllenhaal-Bear-Grylls-Man-vs-Wild

Hint Hint

6 thoughts on “Jake Gyllenhaal ‘Out Of The Woods’ – Disappointed?

  1. He was going to play Rapunzel’s Prince:

    Jeff Sneider ‏@TheInSneider
    UPDATE: Gyllenhaal was to have played Rapunzel’s Prince, not Cinderella’s. I regret the error…

    Very small role, which adds nothing to history. The other Prince was much better.

    • Thanks Monica, well I rejoice his choice, a small role in a musical wouldn’t have added much to his career, IMO. And Meryl Streep, maybe she’s a big name but I rather forget her singing in Mamma Mia, which I only saw for a few minutes, mind you. She was terrible. So yes, it would probably have been fun for many fans but I stick with my opinion and say that Jake ‘out of the woods’ is good news.

      Thanks for commenting and good to see you here, Monica.

  2. I was upset yesterday. Today I’m OK with the changes, especially if Jake supposed to be Rapunzel’s Prince. Reminiscence of Man vs Wild with Jake, which I liked so much, helped me to deal with the idea of Everest movie. Too bad we know that Jake will die in this film, but well, not a first time for us.

  3. All I can say GC is that I agree with everything you say this time. (Even the opinion of Meryl Streep in Mama Mia!) Glad to see you were able to steal a few minutes and give us an update. 😉 Thank you!

  4. Thanks Susan, feels good to know someone shares my opinion. I’m enjoying a delicious bottle, err glass of red wine and the most heavenly view of the mountains. But as you can see I can’t stay away from Jake and GC for long.

Leave a Reply

