End of Watch rules

Updated to add this lovely account of Jake’s play from our dearest Susan, who was lucky enough to see ‘If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet’ last Saturday in NYC. Thank you Susan!

I saw the play Saturday, of course just to witness Jake performing in person. The play itself was okay, interesting, surprisingly funny in the beginning, surprisingly intense and emotional as it progressed. Jake as Uncle Terry was certainly the highlight, even for a non-Gyllenhaalic. (I brought two of them with me, so this is not merely conjecture.) The character of Uncle Terry was different from any of Jake’s movie characters, one of the things I like most about Jake’s projects. I never even thought of Tommy Cahill, his character from Brothers, that is the most similar to Uncle Terry. His British accent was entirely convincing and also consistent throughout the play, to my ear.

Uncle Terry is a real mess when he shows up unexpectedly at his brother’s home. He’s nervous and fidgety, giving every indication by his mannerisms and body language that he is suffering from cocaine withdrawal. Somewhere, way down deep inside, he has a good heart and really cares about people, but he’s constantly drunk, fighting, making poor decisions, and inadvertently making situations worse. It’s like the harder he tries, the worse things get. But it is Uncle Terry who can see the problem between teenage Anna and her parents. He desperately wants to make them see it as well, but they are too wrapped up in their own individual problems to see how badly their family has fractured.

For those who are curious about Jake’s “look” – even though the hair is long and the beard is thick and full, he looks very polished when he’s on the talk shows compared to when he’s on stage in character. The hair is a mess, he constantly runs his hands through it in frustration, the beard looks shaggier/scragglier, and Uncle Terry is generally a lot more rough and unkempt. Actually, he looks like a near-homeless druggie, bewildered, down on his luck, drifting through life. I was briefly reminded of young Pilot Kelson from the first part of Highway. I couldn’t tell what the tattoos were, but they were quite noticeable and fit the character.

After the play I waited around outside the theater for a chance at an autograph. I came away with photos of Jake signing for OTHER people, but not me. Ironically, he asked to borrow my pen to sign for another fan and then thanked me when he returned it, but I wasn’t rude and pushy enough, or maybe tall enough, to get his autograph myself. Even though it was a small crowd, he didn’t have a lot of time to hang around. I wish I could go see it again and try once more for a photo and autograph!

Twitter people, make sure you read this post till the end.

Sunset Boulevard

I’ve been following Jake’s career for quite a while now (don’t ask me for exactly how long, it’s embarrassing) but I can’t remember news being this overwhelming before, probably because when I started neither Twitter nor Facebook were probably more than embryonic thoughts in those internet geeks’ minds and it wasn’t this ‘easy’ to get information and updates. There’s so much going on that I’m afraid I’m leaving something behind but I’ll post whatever I manage to grab hoping that I won’t miss anything crucial. I wonder how Jake is coping, he must be exhausted. I’m adding excerpts from reviews here and there, as usual.

Tonight is the LA premiere for End of Watch, I’m sure he’ll be thrilled to be back in his hometown for this occasion. My fingers and toes are obviously crossed.

San Vicente Boulevard

Jake and Michael Pena (don’t you just love these guys together more and more?) presented Zoe Saldana with an award for Favorite Movie Actress Sunday evening at the 2012 NCLR ALMA Awards in Pasadena. The show airs on Friday, September 21st at 8 PM (EST) on NBC.

Don’t miss this exclusive End of Watch behind the scenes featurette

Back on Friday, Jake was still in NYC at the NBC Studios taping for Anderson Live, which will air Friday 21.

From Stephanie Kun ‏@stephkun (Lead Digital Producer for Anderson show). I can’t wait to see this one.

Gearing up to live tweet our @anderson interview with#JakeGyllenhaal and #MichaelPena. Episode airs Fri. 9/21@EndOfWatchMovie

#AndersonLive “I am an incredible uncle!” — says #JakeGyllenhaal to@AndersonCooper

#InTheStudio @AndersonCooper and #JakeGyllenhaal taking a photo booth pic!

#JakeGyllenhaal and #MichaelPena clarifying love of #Coffee.#Hilarious #AndersonLive

#JakeGyllenhaal “totally embarrassing” — on breakdancing in a room full of cops! #Ha #AndersonLive 

BOXOFFICE.COM

Unforgettable pair Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Peña give Oscar-caliber performances as a couple of beat cops patrolling the dangerous streets of South Los Angeles in End Of Watch, easily one of the year’s best films and one of the best ever in the well-worn cop genre.

The emotional payoff is extraordinary, even more impressive in light of the documentary-style focus of the film. For a riveting motion picture experience with a unique perspective on these chosen few who serve and protect, this is the movie to see.

THE GUARDIAN EXPRESS

“End of Watch.” Intense and riveting, David Ayer’s cop drama does not let go of you. The gimmick is that much of it was shot with very-seat-of-the-pants video cameras, lending it a cinema verite realism while also heightening its shaky nature. Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Pena, both outstanding, are the featured Los Angeles Police Department duo running into all manner of sleaze. A scene of them running and crawling through a burning house is one of the best action sequences I’ve seen in a long time. In Cleveland Friday.

Oscar Heat: Gyllenhaal and Pena deserve some love.

In this funny interview Anna Kendrick reveals a little more about her preparation for and the making of End of Watch, including funny bits about singing and dancing with Jake.

Anna Kendrick: I remember Jake [Gyllenhaal] talking to a traffic cop and describing all the training he’d gone through, and the guy kind of stopped him halfway through and he was like, “So you’re a cop now, like you’re actually… You’ve done everything you have to do.” So, obviously, that level of preparation was kind of intimidating, and when I came in, it actually ended up being this really beautiful thing where it was sort of a life imitating art situation, because we got to shoot chronologically, and when I came in, it really felt like Jake and Michael [Peña] were people who were fully entrenched in this world, and that they had this long standing relationship, and because of the naturalistic style of filmmaking, I got to really just react to that, and feel a little out of place, and feel a little naive, and even envious of the relationship that they had. And I think in turn, that made Jake extra protective of me, that day and the character and as an actor, and that…

Q: I know you have a background in doing musical theatre, but how much preparation went into the singing scene in the car? Did you have a choice as to what it was you wanted to work with?

Anna Kendrick –  Well I’ll tell you how much preparation went into that. Zero percent! That was on the… We were doing this road trip to Vegas, and the idea was to shoot something once we got to Vegas. Dave [Ayer] was in the back with his camera, and he was just shooting out the window sometimes, and we’d just have conversations, whatever, just passing the time, like we were on a road trip. It was just Jake driving, me in the passenger seat, Dave in the back, and that song came on Jake’s iPod, and Jake and I realized that we both knew it by heart and we started singing, and Dave very stealthily put up his camera and started filming us. And at a certain point we realized that he was putting us on film, and we were, “Okay, so we’re Janet and Brian now, not Anna and Jake,” and that’s in the movie. It’s not like he said, “Okay, can you guys start the song again and do that again, that was great.” It was just that it happened and now it’s in the movie. The music supervisor was just… breathed a sigh of relief that we could clear that because I think Dave really wanted to use it.

Q.: And with that, too, how much work went into the wedding dance, and how much of that did you just wing?

Anna Kendrick – We had a couple rehearsals for that at lunchtimes, when we were filming other stuff, and Jake kind of pouted his way through those rehearsals. We were a little concerned about it. And it was weird, because David was the one who was like… thought this was a great idea, and it was the only time I thought he’d be really dorky where he thought this was the most adorable thing. But I think that because Dave is such a kind of hard ass, the idea that he could be excited about something like this… That convinced me that somebody like Brian Taylor could be excited about something that’s kind of silly.

From the CHICAGO SUN TIMES:

“Unfortunately, we didn’t have anything in common at first,” Pena says. “But we did a lot of training together for this film and became great friends. We really had each other’s back. I can call him about anything. He’s a good guy and a complicated dude.

Ayer adds, “Once the relationship between the two of them clicked, they wouldn’t shut up, which informed any of the scenes.”

♦♦♦

Last but not least, this won’t sure come as a surprise to the majority of long time Jake fans but to those of you out there who are convinced to be talking with Jake Gyllenhaal in person via a certain Twitter account, I’m afraid what Jake says in the video below from 106&Park will be like a cold shower. So, Michael Pena recently joined Twitter (follow him here @realmichaelpena) but Jake once again stated that he is not and that he would be interested in Instagram, instead.

When told that these social medias help fans to keep in touch with actors, Jake wisely replied: ‘I’m just trying to make good movies, that’s how I keep in touch with my fans’.

Got that, now?

Listen to Jake and Michael in this video from BET 106 & Park

20 thoughts on “End of Watch rules

  1. How relaxed and playful do you have to be to throw popcorn all over the hosts of the talk show interviewing you as you promote your latest movie!? Jake certainly knows how to be spontaneous…

    I saw the play Saturday, of course just to witness Jake performing in person. The play itself was okay, interesting, surprisingly funny in the beginning, surprisingly intense and emotional as it progressed. Jake as Uncle Terry was certainly the highlight, even for a non-Gyllenhaalic. (I brought two of them with me, so this is not merely conjecture.) The character of Uncle Terry was different from any of Jake’s movie characters, one of the things I like most about Jake’s projects. I never even thought of Tommy Cahill, his character from Brothers, that is the most similar to Uncle Terry. His British accent was entirely convincing and also consistent throughout the play, to my ear.

    Uncle Terry is a real mess when he shows up unexpectedly at his brother’s home. He’s nervous and fidgety, giving every indication by his mannerisms and body language that he is suffering from cocaine withdrawal. Somewhere, way down deep inside, he has a good heart and really cares about people, but he’s constantly drunk, fighting, making poor decisions, and inadvertently making situations worse. It’s like the harder he tries, the worse things get. But it is Uncle Terry who can see the problem between teenage Anna and her parents. He desperately wants to make them see it as well, but they are too wrapped up in their own individual problems to see how badly their family has fractured.

    For those who are curious about Jake’s “look” – even though the hair is long and the beard is thick and full, he looks very polished when he’s on the talk shows compared to when he’s on stage in character. The hair is a mess, he constantly runs his hands through it in frustration, the beard looks shaggier/scragglier, and Uncle Terry is generally a lot more rough and unkempt. Actually, he looks like a near-homeless druggie, bewildered, down on his luck, drifting through life. I was briefly reminded of young Pilot Kelson from the first part of Highway. I couldn’t tell what the tattoos were, but they were quite noticeable and fit the character.

    After the play I waited around outside the theater for a chance at an autograph. I came away with photos of Jake signing for OTHER people, but not me. Ironically, he asked to borrow my pen to sign for another fan and then thanked me when he returned it, but I wasn’t rude and pushy enough, or maybe tall enough, to get his autograph myself. Even though it was a small crowd, he didn’t have a lot of time to hang around. I wish I could go see it again and try once more for a photo and autograph!

    • That’s weird that he didn’t offer you an autogragh since he was in that mode with fans, especially after borrowing a pen from you. Atleast you have the pen that he used.

      • In hindsight, I guess I should have insisted that I GET the autograph before I shared my pen. But I was being patient and polite – in the wrong place at the wrong time, apparently. I think Jake got a wee bit frustrated with some of the people who were fumbling with cameras and taking a long time.

      • If you put yourself in his shoes for one moment you’ll realize how maddening and frustrating it can get. Yes it’s his job, yes he gets paid loads of money, yes he should probably feel flattered, but day after day after day, with dozens of events to attend, journalists to talk to, press conferences, tv shows, awards ceremonies, photo calls, and to top it all off, THE play and the backdoor almost every day and certain days even twice a day well…I feel sympathetic.

        That said though, I’m sorry that rude people got their photo or autograph and a polite, sweet Jake fan like you didn’t.

    • Great account of the play, Susan! I’m sorry that you didn’t get your autograph, but Jake talked to you and used your pen! You can say you came to his aid 🙂

  2. Oh man, it is impossible to keep up. I think we’re all doing the best we can. Love this interview with Anna – will steal it for the next post probably. Your dedication is appreciated by Jake fans. Let’s not think about what Jake would think of us 😉

  3. Susan, you should add, that for a moment you touched each others hands! Remember to frame that pen!

    Anna’s interview, what she said about Jake, working with him, scene in a car is fantastic.
    BET 106 & Park show I enjoyed a lot, exciting to find out about Michael’s twitter. A bit less about Jake’s Instagram, but it’s a big progress with Jake and social media. So maybe one day we’ll meet him on Twitter too.

    • If Jake ever does get on Twitter, hopefully he’ll be nicer than fake Jake. It felt really hurtful with some of the things fake Jake said, before I found out he was a poser.

    • What Jake said about how he lets fans keep in touch with him is exactly what I expected of him to say. I honestly don’t care whether he is on Twitter or not, it’s not like we’d get to know more about him than what we manage to know about anyway, namely what’s really important: his films, his career, in other words what fans are entitled to know. It annoys me though that fake accounts on Twitter, especially one, keep fooling so many naive followers who believe Jake would say such stupid and nasty things.

      I enjoyed that interview with Anna Kendrick, we had pictures of that trip to Las Vegas, remember? Silly gossip blogs even hinted at a love affair between them *rolls eyes*

      • Gossip blogs love to install love affairs between actors anytime they work well together. On a side note, Jake’s beard gives me naughty thoughts. He sure does carry a beard well.

Leave a Reply

