Jake on stage

While he’s busy rehearsing for ‘If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet’ Jake apparently had time to pose for a picture (or hopefully more). It looks like a stage, doesn’t it? Previews start this coming Friday!

And a nice column from the NY Daily News about the play:

Ten years ago, when he starred in a London production of Kenneth Lonergan’s “This Is Our Youth,” Jake Gyllenhaal said: “Every actor I look up to has done theater work, so I knew I had to give it a try.”

Once was not enough. On Friday, the star of “Brokeback Mountain” and the upcoming cop movie “End of Watch” premieres in the Roundabout’s Off-Broadway production of Nick Payne’s “If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet.”

In the dramedy, an award-winning hit in London in 2009, Gyllenhall plays the rudderless Terry, whose 15-year-old overweight niece, Anna (Annie Funke), is tormented by bullies. Headbutts, blood and a school suspension follow.

Terry tries to help the girl, notes a synopsis, but he’s a guy in need of rescuing himself. Ask Anna’s parents George (Brian F. O’Byrne) and Fiona (Michelle Gomez).

Terry sounds a lot like the sort of flawed but sensitive guys that Gyllenhaal, 31, does so well on screen — and this time with an English accent. The role marks his American theater debut.

The play fits comfortably in the ever-expanding roster of dysfunctional-family stories. But Payne, an up-and-coming British talent, also casts his gaze beyond the domestic to a wider, even global, gaze.

“I was interested in – it’s now a bit of a cliché – climate change,” Payne told Exeunt magazine, adding that beleaguered Anna “was a kind of metaphor for what is happening to the planet.”

16 thoughts on “Jake on stage

  1. Exciting to see a picture kind of from a play. Looks like Jake will be bearded with longer hair!
    I like that description of a play, you posted. I wonder, how Jake will manage with British accent. I loved how he spoke as Dastan in POP, though some people were complaining.

  2. I love him in whatever role he chooses, but – damn! – isn’t it time for a comedy? Something just ridiculously funny where we might get photos of a smiling Jake? Okay, I like the longer hair, too, and I’m anxious to hear the accent he’ll use but I’m really going to like seeing his smile while he’s onstage. Since the play is described as a “dramedy” I hope there’ll be some funny lines and a smile here and there.

    • Something like Bubble Boy? LOL I think there’ll be room for jokes and smiles in the play anyway. I’ll look for people and critics’ reactions to the original play and see if I’m right.

      • Well… If Bubble Boy was at one end of the spectrum and the Serial Killer from the Time to Dance video was at the other end, I think I’d like a character that is closer to Bubble Boy for a change. Funny doesn’t have to be unsophisticated, you know. What can I say – I’m ready for a smart comedy. We’ll have End of Watch, If There Is I Haven’t Found it Yet, An Enemy, and possibly the Mississippi Grind project. I think it’s time for a comedy!

      • I was just kidding of course Susan 😉 I know what you mean and even if I don’t share your wish of more Jake in comedies (I’m more of a dramatic roles fan) I can see how a smiling Jake can be more alluring. Don’t get me wrong, Jake’s smile can light up the sky (ha! Brokeback hint) and I love it but I don’t miss comedian Jake. But that’s just me, of course. I don’t think Jake’s wish is to be boxed in a ‘dramatic actor’ label so I’m confident that we’ll see him smiling again on the big screen soon 🙂

  3. He is looking good in the photo. So happy you, Susan, and Robert will be seeing the play. Cant wait for you to tell us about it. Its sounds great. I enjoy action movies and comedies. I also think he should do a comedy as well but cant wait for ‘End of Watch’ and ‘The Enemy’ Jake on a role. Love it. 😀

  4. I wish him as many plays as he wants. I know he likes to do that. But for me his fan, it’s devastating, that is something with him I’m not able to watch. I can’t wait for all the reviews from a play, but it’s not a same as seeing and feeling it myself! 😦

Leave a Reply

