I’m back!

Hello my little reprobates, it’s good to be back! I hope this new post finds you all fine and dandy.

These social networks nowadays sure help in keeping in the loop, I think I haven’t missed any columns about Jake during my absence (or so I hope). I remember those times when you had to wait for a magazine (yes, the paper ones!) to be in your hands to read an interview or know more about a movie being made. Oh, did I just give my age away? Never mind, I’m sure I’m in good company, right? RIGHT?

Anyway, back to business and to our regular schedule.

The Jake Gyllenhaal Twitter hash-tag today is all about the new red-band trailer for End Of Watch. Check it out below (NSFW and NSFK)


Can I have one more F-word, please? boy, lots of swearing going on here. Hey, I swear a lot too, but isn’t that just a little too much? Might be just very realistic though, I can’t be sure as I’ve never been involved in any of those testosterone-packed actions, thank god. What do you guys think now that we saw a little more? Mmmh, I think I’m going to post a poll very soon, so watch this space.

I thought binoculars were supposed to be held straight and with both hands ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s old news now, I know, but how could I not post those amazing shots from the DETAILS magazine interview?

Which, by the way, I’ve just re-read in the quietness of my bedroom. I also saw the behind the scenes footage again and wondered why haven’t they chosen a little more cheerful background music. Anyway, the bits I enjoyed more are those about Jake performing Adam and Anthony in An Enemy, albeit a little spoiler-ish (be warned!)

This morning’s scene is simple but pivotal: Adam, the professor, enters his apartment, rushes to his phone for messages, finds none, says “Shit,” then hears a knock on the front door he’s just entered.

Adam’s “double,” Anthony, the vain bad-boy actor, is on the other side, and their interactionโ€”to be shot after lunchโ€”will be a crux of the film. Adam meeting Anthony. Jake meeting Jake. Gyllenhaal’s impulse is to play it big, trying out various interpretations of Adam’s unease as he goes to answer the door. For the next take, Villeneuve asks him to try going smaller, and Gyllenhaal dials it back. This doesn’t quite do it, either.

Villeneuve is keeping the cameras rolling, even between takes. “When you let it roll,” he says, joining me at the monitor, “the actor can sometimes take you to a space you hadn’t thought of. Jake is amazing in those spaces.”

Gyllenhaal has positioned himself in front of the camera, giving himself an extreme close-up before the third and final take, his bearded face filling the monitor with one expression of suffering after another. Almost instinctively, his hand rises to cover his mouth in horror. As D.H. Lawrence said, “a young man is afraid of his demon and puts his hand over the demon’s mouth sometimes.”

And of course the totally unknown to me background story from the Brokeback Mountain phone scene with Anne Hathaway. I got teary-eyed reading this.

“It’s no accident. Jake takes it all very seriously but also has a very light touch,” explains Anne Hathaway, his costar in Love and Other Drugs and Brokeback Mountain. “On Brokeback, my final scene was on the phone with Heath, who was in Venice for Casanova. Jake offered to read Heath’s lines. On the last take, he changed the line, ever so slightly. That kicked off something in me, and lo and behold, that’s the take in the film.”

ย 
โ™ฆโ™ฆโ™ฆ
So thanks to DETAILS magazine
for interviewing Jake, although I’ll have you know, dear Details folks, that Jake hadn’t gone anywhere (wink). Let’s hope many more press interviews will follow. I’m also looking forward to seeing Jake as a guest at talk-shows, it’s been way too long!

Dostojevskij-ish

How can anyone not like bearded Jake is beyond me. I know I know, I’m repeating myself.

But to me, he never looked sexier than this.

16 thoughts on “I’m back!

  1. Glad to have ya back. Cant wait for the movie to come out. Even with all the F bombs. HAHA. As for the binoculars, He going back to he Jarhead snipper days. I also agree on how sexy he is in the Mag. Very nice indeed. ๐Ÿ˜€ Sadly I am beginging to think that in Ca that Details is NOT sold. Cant find it in my town and Hubby went out of town and didnt see it either. :/ Must keep looking. Once again glad to have ya back. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hiya Jessica! It’s good to be back, I’ll need a few days to get back to my daily routine not to mention to get back in shape (rolls eyes) but it was worthy. As for the DETAILS mag I’m sure you’ll soon find it on e-bay so no worries. Those F-bombs sure are, mmmmh, many ๐Ÿ™‚ but I guess that’s the way it goes with those guys. I’m still not sure whether the movie will premiere on the 21st or the 28th but either way we’re almost there!

  2. Welcome back. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Right, the trailer. Amazing. I c-a-n-n-o-t wait for November! >< I like this one even better than the other one.

    Details: Again, amazing. I adore the photos. Hot is an understatement. There's just something about them. I love the Behind-the-scenes film and have already fallen in love with the song/singer Aaron Embry. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The interview was at times quite hard to read. The bit about BBM and the phone call..jesus.. *sniff* …

    Of course, I've already come across the usual bitching aout the Details shoot and interview *sigh*…some people should not be allowed online.

    Anyway… back to waiting.

    Nev ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hello Nev! Thanks for the welcome back, I missed you all.

      Oh, the bitching about the Details shoot *rolls eyes* I’m trying to avoid reading comments, even if sometimes I have to (it’s my ‘job’ as a Jake blog runner). I read some of them (unfortunately) and have decided that ignoring them is the best thing we can do.

      I agree about that understatement, must be the one of the century.

      Back to waiting ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Welcome back! Glad you had a good time.

    Lots of fun stuff happening. But true to Jake fandom, there’s always something annoying that goes with it. But we soldier on ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hiya Sarah! Thanks, I really had a great time although I could have done with more sleep. Yes, Jake fandom is not safe from silly people but of course we soldier on ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Rebecca! I have watched almost nothing of the Olympics apart from Bolt races. Glad you enjoyed the show although I have to scold you for losing focus on Jake: that is unforgivable ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. So glad to see you back! Missed you while you were away. The Details interview, behind the scenes video and all the photos have made me so impatient for both End of Watch and An Enemy, I hope I can last. It will be great to see Jake promoting End of Watch on the talk shows. And then there’s The Play, so we should get a spate of news items about that. It will be GyllenHeaven for sure. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hey Susan, thanks! I missed you all, too.

      Oh yes, GyllenHeaven indeed. I hope this ol’ little heart will survive the excitement, there’s sure a lot going on and so much to look forward to. I can’t wait to see him on talk shows, I think he really enjoys doing them and TV hosts seem to have a great time whenever they have him.

  5. Welcome back Gyllencrazy!! ohhh I’ve missed you so much!
    The article of Details is very interesting! I like the comment of Anne Hathaway about her last scene of BBM. It proved Jake’s great talent for being in the movies.
    aww I really envy you all who can go to NY to see Jake’s stage in Broadway. so Let me know all about it when you watch the play in this fall! I’m waiting for the reports!

    • mayumi-san, I missed you too!!

      I’ll let you know all about the play the minute I recover from the shock ๐Ÿ™‚ It’ll be the second time I share a ‘narrow’ space with him, I know it’ll take a while LOL

Leave a Reply

