A World Without Brokeback Mountain?

I wish I could have joined the crowd that attended the screening of Brokeback Mountain and the Q&A that followed with director Lee and the film’s producer James Schamus at the LACMA last week. A friend of mine went and although it wasn’t her first experience with Brokeback on a big screen she said that the impact was powerful all the same and those who were clearly watching it for the first time she could tell by the way they gasped and sighed and ended up teary-eyed that they were deeply affected. In all honesty I can say that all the times I saw it at theaters I have felt the same gut punch. I know this time wouldn’t have been different.

I hoped more people – if not news websites – would have written about it afterwards but I just read that the Q&A bit was videoed and will soon be uploaded so at least on that front we’re covered. I’ll update this post with the link to it when it’s available.

In the meantime, have a look at this very interesting blog post about the event.

Ang Lee revealed something about himself…

But Lee was contemplating retirement after Hulk’s poor reception. Lee’s father had hoped his son would win an Oscar by 50 so “maybe you can think of doing something real.” Lee says he was perilously close to determining what his next stage of “doing something real” might be, until his dad gave him some unanticipated advice.

“For the first time in his life, he said: ‘Go ahead and make a movie,’ ” Lee says. “ ‘You’re only 49.’ ”

Lee’s father passed away two weeks later, which pushed the director to plunge into work, at the helm of Brokeback.

Even though he referred to himself as a “half-zombie” on the set, unable to fully grieve over his loss, Lee calls Brokeback Mountain “the easiest movie I’ve made,” adding that the film is “tragic, but it’s about love, and it nurtured me back from being wrecked.”

and with James Schamus he shared some trivia whilst reminding the audience that

[…] the romantic drama that starred Jake Gyllenhaal and Heath Ledger as the iconic and clandestine cowboy lovers Jack Twist and Ennis Del Mar, respectively, barely came to fruition.

Judging by the crowd’s enthusiastic reception, Brokeback Mountain is an ongoing happening that continues to open minds as it touches hearts. 

I still shudder when I think about it. Seriously, a world without Brokeback Mountain? 


15 thoughts on “A World Without Brokeback Mountain?

  1. Thanks for the great post and the wonderful photos. When I saw Brokeback Mountain the first time it was in a theater with three very good friends. By the end we were all weeping shamelessly because it was so heartbreaking. I had heard it was a story about two ‘gay cowboys’ but what I saw was a tragic love story about two PEOPLE. It didn’t change my mind about anything but it did open my eyes to stupid prejudices. I’ve seen it many times since that first viewing in a theater and I still cry every time. Brilliant performances, brilliant director, heartbreaking story…

    • I know the feeling. I might not have cried openly but I have shed so many, many silent tears and after 6 years from my first viewing the feeling of despair hasn’t abated. But it makes me happy when people tell me that they got it, that they saw beyond the “gay” aspect of the film, that – just like you – they opened their eyes to stupid prejudices. That’s the power of Brokeback.

  2. Thank you for that post about my favourite movie ever! For so many pictures. I would love to be there, to have a chance to listen to Ang Lee and to see BBM on a silver screen. I’m looking forward to your updates.

    • My pleasure, mermon. I would have loved to be there, too. I’m told Ang Lee was very friendly and patiently responded to all the questions from the audience. I’ll post the video hopefully soon.

  3. Brokeback Mountain is my best movie ever too! Unfortunately I’ve never seen it on big screen. I saw it for my first time was the DVD in my living room about two years ago. Since then, It’s been my favorite movie. and I can’t help crying every time I saw it.
    Thank you very much for the great post. It’s really good to me!! I didn’t know this event of the screening of BBM.
    I would like to translate this article to Japanese on my blog. If you don’t mind that I’d like to write clearly your blog name GYLLENCRAZY for the source of information on my blog. May I do that?

    • Mayumi-san, I’d be honored to be mentioned in your blog, please go ahead!

      Brokeback Mountain conquered hearts from all over the world and although we see it for what it is – a love story between two human beings – we must not forget that in many countries its public screening and DVD selling are forbidden. If people from these countries managed to see it despite their homophobic rules it’s only thank to the internet. I say ‘bless it and long live’.

  4. You don’t go unnoticed: “It’s interesting,” Sarah Gadon mused, “every time I get a new co-star, I sign up for Twitter and I get all their fans. And so it’s kind of interesting to compare Pattinson fans and Gyllenhaal fans. You get to see what kind of fans they draw” (on celebs.gather.com).

Leave a Reply

