An Enemy: Pathé International closes deals in Cannes

Edited To Add

Yep, looks like an official poster to me, or at least one of them. I love the reversed letters.

The Pathé International office in Cannes (their tweet)

* * *

Back to yesterday’s post.

While Jake is enjoying his third shooting day in the heat of Toronto…

Mostly Sunny, High 27C. With Humidex, Will Feel Like 33C. Enjoy Your Thursday

Variety announces that:

“Intense psychological thriller “An Enemy,” Canadian helmer Denis Villeneuve’s awaited follow-up to Oscar-nommed “Incendies,” delivered on pre-market buzz. Pic, which stars Jake Gyllenhaal, closed Russia (Carmen), Middle East (Phars), Turkey (BIR Films), Latin America (Imagem) and Thailand (M Pictures).

Further sales were South Korea (Noori), Portugal (Lusomondo), Greece (Video Seven), Israel (Orlando) and Indonesia (PT Amero).”

Congratulations to the sales team, good job! 

On a less serious note, that same sales team of Pathé International (the sales arm of the leading European mini-major based out of the U.K. and France) tweeted this picture of their office in Cannes the other day.

It looks like a giant poster to  me:

And this is Pathé International Cannes line-up page for An Enemy:

I was glad to see that the word “erotic” has disappeared from the synopsis of the film:  “gripping, mysterious psychological thriller”. I like this official version better, thanks. And this double shot of Jake they’ve chosen is perfect, smoldering and intense (sorry if I couldn’t keep from posting it every time I mentioned the film in my posts).

Anyway, remember that mantra? Two Jakes, Two Jakes, Two Jakes?…

…guys, we forgot the Beard! 🙂

18 thoughts on “An Enemy: Pathé International closes deals in Cannes

  1. Everywhere but Poland. Should I start to worry? I noticed they didn’t say “pregnant wife”, still believe it could be mistake, everyone repeats. I personally wouldn’t mind erotic, as well, thriller. It’s never too much Jake, never enough. It wouldn’t spoil the story. There are 2 couples leading couple’s life. They kiss, they cuddle, they make love sometimes. I could see that without pain. :))

    • Give it time, mermon, I’m sure you’ll sit at a Cracow’s theater enjoying the film just like the rest of the world 🙂 As for Jake making love to his fiancé I sure wouldn’t mind watching it either, I would just prefer the film draws attention for the psychological aspect of the story.

  2. :)) Certainly that’s what I count for, to see it in a theatre for the first time.
    I’m sure thriller is a main thing. Eventual man/woman stuff – like salt&pepper to add a taste.

  3. I admit I look forward to some more erotic Jake. The pervert in me wonders if he’ll ever do some frontal nudity. :-p

    • LOL! I personally don’t need that much, though I wouldn’t close my eyes for sure. I would rather see real intimate moments without avoiding too much body contact from too much respect. 😉

    • @Rebecca: Pervert? There’s no such thing where Jake is involved! 🙂 anyway, I seriously doubt he’ll ever do anything like that but I also never really thought I’d get to see his naked butt so I guess we just have to wait and see 🙂

      • Here’s hoping he shows it all one day. I know his bil Peter Sarsgaard flashed it in the movie about Kinsey and Maggie in Secretary.

      • I loved the scene in Kinsey where Peter’s character and Kinsey get it on. 😉

  4. Thanks for posting all this. I missed it all today. I nicked it for GB 🙂

    I didn’t see a US deal there. I hope it gets one or already has one!

    • Nick away, Sarah 🙂

      I don’t think it has a US deal already. When I read the news from Cannes yesterday I sent an e-mail to one of the sales dept guys, I hope he gets back to me. I’ll let you know!

  5. @Rebecca: I loved that scene, too. I like how Peter played his gay roles. And yes, it’s possible for a straight actor to play the gay guy in more than one film and Peter did exactly that and with style.

Leave a Reply

