Jake Gyllenhaal to star in off-Broadway play

I have been on peens and needles since this rumor started getting around the net but now that it’s official damn! I’m all ready to write about it. It’s true, our Jake is going back on stage in New York this coming fall in an off-Broadway play from the Roundabout Theatre Company.

The Oscar-nominated actor will appear in the ensemble comedy-drama “If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet” by British playwright Nick Payne.

Here’s the plot:

Jake Gyllenhaal makes his American stage debut in this provocative, insightful new play by Nick Payne. Fifteen-year-old Anna’s weight makes her a target for bullies. When her mom transfers Anna to the school where she teaches in order to protect her daughter, it only makes things worse. If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet is an entertaining look at a regular family stuck somewhere between knowing what the problem is… and doing something about it.
Anna’s environmentalist dad, determined to finish his new book and save the planet, is no help at all. Just as Anna gets suspended for retaliating with a head-butt, her estranged uncle Terry (Jake Gyllenhaal) arrives unannounced. A heartbroken drifter with the mouth of a sailor, Terry reaches out to Anna in a way that no one ever has. Their unexpected friendship sends her parents’ rocky marriage into a tailspin as the whole family wonders, what—or who—really needs saving?
A heartbroken drifter with the mouth of a sailor? Honestly, could Jake be any more full of surprises? I’m already packing my bags here!
If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet, will begin performances August 24, 2012 and officially open on September 20, 2012 at the Harold and Miriam Steinberg Center for Theatre / Laura Pels Theatre (111 West 46th Street). This is a strictly limited engagement of 13 weeks through November 25, 2012.
More about this soon!
P.S. 
10 thoughts on “Jake Gyllenhaal to star in off-Broadway play

  1. This is so exciting, that I don’t know what to write. I’m so happy for him, I think it’s something he wanted to do quite much. I’m packing my bags as well, imagining I’m taking them to New York!!!
    Plot seems so interesting. “hapless Terry trying to save her(Anna). But Terry needs saving himself, and as the bond between the two deepens, Anna finds herself swept up in a friendship she can’t live without.” I can imagine that perfectly. Having once Jake’s… akhm… Terry’s friendship, how one could live without it!?

    • Mermon, I’m shaking in anticipation. This is so cool, after such a long dry spell! But most of all I’m glad for Jake. The change of agency is proving to be the right choice. I hope he’s happy, he deserves it.

      • Oh, yes! You’re absolutely right! All those new exciting changes came to Jake with his new agency. He was stuck somehow with an old one. It was very right & proper move for Jake!

  2. I’m very happy. Everytime I’ve seen other big name actors doing plays I kept thinking this is something Jake should be doing. the role sounds very interesting. I don’t know if I’ll be able to make it to NY to see it or not

    • I hope you’ll make it, Linda. Sounds like something worth a try, don’t you think? and you still have time to sort things out.

      Acting on stage is an entirely different thing, more challenging, more difficult, surely more rewarding but risky, too. No multiple takes, no “let’s take five”, no “I forgot that line”, no special effects. It’s just raw, pure acting. The fact that he’s exposing himself to the risk makes me appreciate him even more, if that’s at all possible.

      I think Jake will be great, I have limitless faith in his acting skills. I hope critics will be good and fair to him, theater ones being renowned for their – often gratuitous – brutality.

  3. well we know that Jake was NOT in LA yesterday, He’s in England for his friend Marcus Mumford’s wedding. I have to wonder why his name showed up on the list for the LA awards when he had to have known way ahead of time he’d be in England.

    • Yes, he was spotted at London Heathrow two days ago but I wasn’t sure. I think he granted his participation at the LA Corps before knowing about Marcus wedding, which was pretty sudden. Nice thing of him to attend, they must be real good friends.

Leave a Reply

