Earth Day 2012 – Glimpse #2 inside Saramago’s “The Double” and a few Jake Gyllenhaal pictures

Earth Day 2012 is approaching (April 22, folks!). As you know Jake has been involved in its celebration in the past. Remember, for  instance, his trip to the Arctic in 2005?

Well, no trip to the Arctic this year but The Artisan Group, an elite collective of nearly 800 small-business entrepreneurs, is gifting some of their favorite eco-friendly products to some of Hollywood’s most high-profile environmentally-conscious celebrities in honor of Earth Day 2012. OF COURSE Jake is among them. 

Check the list of the goodies contained in the bag! Also, the website of one of those entrepreneurs mentions not only the gift bag but also the participation to the event:

Celebrities participating in this year’s event and receiving bags include: Tom Hanks, Bill Maher, Barbara Streisand, Jeremy Piven, Sting, Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Rosario Dawson, Woody Harrelson, Daryl Hannah, Drew Barrymore, Ellen DeGeneres, Edward Norton, Jake Gyllenhaal, Josh Hartnett, Pink, Courtney Cox, Cameron Diaz, KT Turnstall, Dave Matthews, and Orlando Bloom.”

…but I’m not sure it’s a reliable source. I guess we have to wait and see. Oh, and I wish they chose a different picture of our guy. Just saying.

_____________________

Since the glimpses inside Saramago’s book are not everyone’s cup of tea (some of you have expressed their wish to be kept in the dark about the story of Tertuliano Maximo Afonso), I’ll post a few pictures of Jake especially for them so they won’t feel neglected 😉

After the piccies you’ll find the new glimpse.

___________________

WARNING: here comes another glimpse inside the book.

Again, nothing of what I’m going to post will in any way reveal anything crucial about the story but you’re free to skip these glimpses if you want to keep the surprise intact!

Glimpse #2

“True, he felt all the hairs on his body prickle, but that even happens to wolves when faced by danger, and no-one in their right mind would describe wolves as pathetic cowards. Tertuliano Maximo Afonso is about to prove that he certainly isn’t either.”

16 thoughts on “Earth Day 2012 – Glimpse #2 inside Saramago’s “The Double” and a few Jake Gyllenhaal pictures

  1. Thank you so much for having consideration for my hope of keeping away from spoiler.
    I realized that you don’t real spoil, and I knew it. 🙂
    So, I enjoy reading all your posts.
    I’m sorry, If my words last comment were harsh. My English is still poor, so I might I say a rude thing often.
    But I’m grateful to you for treating me kindly.

    Anyway, Thanks for the poster “Earth Day 2012”! I’ve seen some pics of Jake’s trip to the Arctic in 2005.
    I wonder who the woman next to Jake is.

    I love to say the mantra “two Jakes two Jakes two Jakes”. LOL 😀

    • She’s Salma Hayek 🙂

      And you have no reason to apologize for your English, you’re doing just fine!!

      Glad you’re reading my posts despite those little glimpses, see you soon then. Thanks!

  2. The shooting of “An Enemy” and the rehearsals for the play… God! What a schedule for our dear Jake 🙂
    By the way, Saramago’s writing is really amazing. Didnt know this writer. Have you read some of his other books?
    The character of Tertuliano is complex but I’m looking forward to seeing Jake in Daniel’s part 🙂

    A part that deserves some nominations huh?!

    • Yep, he’s got his hands full and I’m sure he couldn’t wait to feel so busy again.

      Saramago is amazing. If you don’t know him then you should read “Blindness” — L’Aveuglement, in French http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/L'Aveuglement. It’s incredible.

      Jake will be the perfect Tertuliano, I’m sure about that. We’ll discuss the book once you’ve finished reading it.

      • Well… A new book to read, a BEAUTIFUL English movie to watch ;-)… Thanks for developping my culture 🙂

      • J’ai hâte… But I keep in mind the Dennis Lehane Shutter Island… I wondered how Martin Scorsese would do to keep close to it… And he did it! Just think about “The Double” and the adaptation of Denis Villeneuve… He’s gonna do it! 🙂
        So I think I’m gonna read the book, check the movie and I’ll tell you then right ?… ;-)))

      • Deal! 🙂

        I’m hoping Denis Villeneuve does a good job with The Double. I’m aware there are examples of books turned into films with extremely good results, but the opposite happens way more often.

      • I bought the movie (Blindness) but haven’t received the book yet… What to do?… Watching the movie first or waiting for the book?… THE BOOK!!!!

Leave a Reply

