Daniel Wolfe talks about his thriller for The Shoes and “Jake in a dark role survey” results

EDITED TO ADD THIS NEVER SEEN BEFORE PICTURE OF JAKE WITH MR. MARCUS MUMFORD

Photo copyright James Marcus Haney.

Now, back to my original post:

My addiction for the The Shoes music video of “Time to Dance” is not a secret (and the song itself is starting to grow on me, despite my initial dislike), so you know why I get thrilled every time I read about it or – even better – when new information about it are disclosed. Bear with me guys, but to watch Jake in that video has been like drinking water after a long day under the scorching desert sun, I was that thirsty to see him acting again and in a dark role to boot!

And I know some of you share my wish to see him again in a dark role, possibly in a new film, if this survey I posted a while ago is any indication (by the way, I don’t think I officially thanked you all readers for taking the time to vote, so THANK YOU!) Check the results

Anyway, these are excerpts from an interesting interview with Daniel Wolfe, the director of such a fantastic thriller:

Given the intensity of the violent scenes, what was the atmosphere like on set? Was it a case of being serious and intense, to help the actors get in that mindset for the shoot or rather did you balance out the onscreen intensity with a bit of behind-the-scenes levity?

The atmosphere on set changed from scene to scene. In the party scenes there was no real distinction between shooting and not shooting, it was just a party so the atmosphere was a party. Then we’d just walk Jake in.

How did Jake Gyllenhaal come to be involved in the project? How did he respond to the role?

Jake and I had been discussing a script with a mutual friend, producer Lynette Howell. I knew he was into music videos, so when we wrote up the treatment, I sent it to them. They both responded well to it. And then we just had to sort out dates.

[…]

Though the violence is definitely the most eye-catching element of the promo, its the protagonists’ quiet moments of personal self improvement and snippets of his daily life that I think give the video gravitas and insight. What does the main character represent for you? Did you have a back story in your mind or did you see him as an impenetrable enigma?

My brother and I wrote a back-story for the character. We wrote stream of consciousness stuff of his thoughts, his feelings. But I’m not a fan of things where you can read the character’s thought process. I talked with Jake about this.
I wanted to do something where the audience project their own stuff onto the character. The ennui is clear though, the emptiness.

But there’s more! In this VIDEO interview The Shoes themselves praise Jake’s portrayal of a serial killer, bless them (I had no idea they even existed before this video but that’s not the point). Don’t miss it!

Anyway, the shaving scene


…and Jake’s eyes here…

…never fail to give me the shivers…

OK, let’s wrap this up with just one more vid for those of you who came to like the song as well: a LIVE version 

12 thoughts on “Daniel Wolfe talks about his thriller for The Shoes and “Jake in a dark role survey” results

  1. I love to watch this video though it scares me half to death! I had no idea… His face expression coming up out of the barber’s chair iv.v.v scary for me too. The normal parts of his life his wide-eyed innocence juxtaposed with his spine chilling rage makes me want to not watch…but I always succumb

    • I remember the first time I watched this incredible video my jaw dropped and I guess it’s still on the floor. Jake is at the same time scary and sexy as hell.

      Lovely to see you here, sass!

  2. I wish I could see that vid when The Shoes praise Jake’s acting! It doesn’t open for me:(
    It’s nice to read your post with all those gifs. The interview with Daniel Wolfe is very interesting. I was counting on some words from Daniel on common work with Jake.
    The photo of Jake and Marcus is fantastic from many reasons.

  3. I adore this video…because of Jake’s performance. It is truly eye-opening with respect to his range as an actor. The music is inconsequential; look at all the violence that took place to Beethoven in “A Clockwork Orange.” The music accents the actor, not the other way around! I’d like to see more of Jake as a character like this…

  4. Sorry, just trying my gravatar (I adore this video…because of Jake’s performance. It is truly eye-opening with respect to his range as an actor. The music is inconsequential; look at all the violence that took place to Beethoven in “A Clockwork Orange.” The music accents the actor, not the other way around! I’d like to see more of Jake as a character like this…). You can delete this if my image didn’t show up.

    • Hey Elizabeth, good to see you! Your avatar works just fine.

      I agree about the music, that it accents the actor. And Jake, I’ll never tire to say his, was stunning.

Leave a Reply

