Jake is back in LA: dare I hope he will really attend the Advocate 45th anniversary gala?

EDITED

Last week the LA Times mentioned Jake being among the inductees to the Advocate Heroes Hall of Famein occasion of its 45th anniversary:

“The glossy will celebrate the big 4-5 at the Beverly Hilton on Thursday, welcoming a host of celebs and activists, as well as fashion and social types. Not to mention inductees to the Heroes Hall of Fame, a list of notables that includes Ellen DeGeneres, Rosie O’Donnell, Cynthia Nixon and Jake Gyllenhaal.

“Any celebration of The Advocate’s founding in 1967 must honor the heroes for LGBT rights that we’ve covered for 45 years. With one honoree named per year, the list will be announced in parts and culminate in an event in Los Angeles this month.

The fact that I didn’t find any official guest list doesn’t prevent me from hoping that Jake being back in LA

means that he may attend the event.

I was tweeting the other day that I had my doubts, that it would mean an exposure that Jake might feel uncomfortable with but I really really would love for him to go. It would mean that he stopped caring for the idiotic  speculation about his sexual orientation (which is his business and nobody else’s) that started with the hoopla stemmed from this stunning film

and it would mean that he feels safe enough to show his support to the LGBT community.

81 nations in the world still legally punish homosexuality. In 5 of these  gays and lesbians are punished with the death penalty. Not to talk about the daily gay-bashing and gay-bulling going on everyday everywhere.

Public displays of support from celebrities have great impact on the masses and are sorely needed.

So yeah, I hope you’ll go, Jake.

P.S. Anyway, nice to see the beard back in full force.

17 thoughts on “Jake is back in LA: dare I hope he will really attend the Advocate 45th anniversary gala?

  1. I wonder if Jake might come out. Like you said, it’s nobody’s business, but if he is gay, I don’t see the point in hiding it. I don’t think it would hurt his career at all. In fact, I think it would boost interest in it. He’s got a very open minded and lovely fanbase.

    • PS: The fact that homosexuality is a crime anywhere is just disgusting.

      PPS: He needs to shave that beard like now. I love his Source Code scruff. This is creepy mountain man terrain.

    • I tend to avoid discussions about Jake’s sexual orientation here, as well as any other gossip/speculation about his personal life. I also try to avoid or at least limit to the maximum extent possible pap pictures, this is how far my respect for him goes.

      So I’ll just consider your comment as if it were a generic question about whether gay celebrities should come out or not and if that can affect their careers. I think it surely affects it. It’s the type of impact that is not predictable. Being openly gay can affect your career in a bad way (take that of Rupert Everett, for example) or it can somehow even enhance it, take Adam Lambert, just the first that comes to mind. You really can’t know for sure in advance.

      It’s often debated whether a gay actor could convincingly play an heterosexual character, and I’m afraid most answers I read here and there from both critics and public are negative. I guess every gay actor keeps that fact in mind, that they might not be asked to play another heterosexual role anymore and I don’t know how many are ready to take that risk.

  2. I really hope he decides to partecipate…as you said the support from celebrity have a great impact on the masses and, even if we live in 2012, the LGBT cause needs all the support possible…there’s still too much intolerance

    • I’m still doubtful, but being in LA could be a hint in that direction. He needs to be back in NY on April 2 for the Paul Newman celebration, he must have a good reason to go back and forth in so little time. Let’s hope the reason is this one.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hi GC, I meant that Jake has not been announced as guest to the evening but as hero in the Hall of Fame that The Advoocate has worded for the birthday, there are 45 names among which H Clinton H Milk the physician that for first it studied the aids Adam Lambert etcc among these names there is also Jake, perhaps for the role of Jack Twist, I don’t know if he will participate in the event, but the article doesn’t speak of him as guest but of Ellen and Rosie O’Donnel as a guests.

    • “You meant”? where?

      Anyway, my whole post is about the uncertainty of his participation 🙂 in fact I mentioned the LA Times, where he is listed among the guests.

  4. “You meant”? where?

    sorry, I have not understood. what does it mean this? my English is not very good. have I committed errors of Grammar?

    ”The only source that we have is the LA Time, and it doesn’t announce Jake as guest but as name in the Hall of Fame, announces instead as sure guests Ellen, R O’Donnel and others.

    • Sorry,

      When you opened your comment saying “I meant” I thought we were having a conversation elsewhere that I didn’t know about.

      Anyway, Jake is not officially listed as a guest anywhere, that’s the only certain thing so far.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Never heard about Advocate before, until that 45 years celebration’s news and possible Jake’s participation. As I understood reading your post – it’s a kind of Gay’s Magazine, or something like that?
    Honestly saying, despite a chance of Jake giving a valuable support for LGBT community, I think he’s done enough already and paid quite high praise for that. Even some of his fans question his orientation sometimes. He and some of his friends said it very clearly, how it is with him. It was not enough to stop the rumours. He didn’t care for a long time. But how long he can stand it. Me, as his fan, can not. I’m afraid his presence at that event would give a start to new unpleasant jokes.
    I respect very much what you wrote about your rules here, so if you don’t feel like, don’t comment, please. 🙂

    • Yes, the Advocate is an American LGBT-interest magazine, the oldest continuing LGBT publication in the United States.

      As for Jake being no longer able to stand the rumors well…it’s not like people are questioning whether he’s a rapist or a murderer or a child molester.

      If it’s true that the Advocate will mention him in its Hall Of Fame as one of the heroes for LGBT rights, I assume for his role in Brokeback Mountain, I honestly can’t see why he shouldn’t feel honored.

      But maybe it’s just little biased me, seeing as how Brokeback Mountain, and thus Jake, changed my life (as well as that of thousands of other people).

      Anyway, I had doubts since the beginning about his attendance at the gala, but I still hope he’ll surprise me.

      As you can see, I’m not talking about his sexual preferences, I will never discuss them and I honestly don’t care what team he bats for, so this discussion is welcome 🙂

  6. “As for Jake being no longer able to stand the rumors well…it’s not like people are questioning whether he’s a rapist or a murderer or a child molester.” – No doubts about that. But it’s still annoying, some people know better than him.

    “If it’s true that the Advocate will mention him in its Hall Of Fame as one of the heroes for LGBT rights, I assume for his role in Brokeback Mountain, I honestly can’t see why he shouldn’t feel honored.” – He certainly could/would feel honoured. As he was some times in the past.

  7. Hi Jake estoy de acuerdo contigo, la vida personal de cada uno de nosotros es decision de uno mismo, donde se siente complacido, y Dios es el único que nos puede juzgar. sigue adelante Jake, trata de ser mas humilde. Que Dios te bendiga.

    Dante

Leave a Reply

