Jake Gyllenhaal and The Beard in Madrid – Eureka’s Account

(scroll down for a video from yesterday night)

Back to the story.

Yesterday I told her that I hated here21e05088cc8fc1f0e8fb10edb93a51e. I was just kidding, of course. She had just tweeted me from Madrid that a full bearded Jake Gyllenhaal had arrived at the theater where Enemy would be shortly premiering. Today she sent me her account of one of the most exciting evenings of her life served with photos and a hilarious short video she took of a taped Denis presenting Jake and the man himself presenting the film. Today I’ll say that again–I hate you Eureka.

Just kidding, of course.

Here’s the story of a great night from a true fan: thank you for sharing it with me, Eureka. I know how it is to see Jake in person, it’s an experience that leaves you with a strange thrilling sensation, like having goosebumps every time you think about it. It takes a while to fade away and it’s amazing.

13306440203_b709cd404b_b

EUREKA’S ACCOUNT

Yesterday was such a busy and fun day for me.Jake was back to Madrid to present Enemy the movie. From the moment I knew I would have the chance to see hin live again I was really excited and looking forward to see him my secod time. Last time and my first time ever was in April 2011. See here: http://tinyurl.com/pvy3jfu and here http://tinyurl.com/owmk47f This time I won 2 tickets to see the movie and see him presenting it. I took my sister with me. She’s not a Gyllenhaal fan. But she was there to support me. And have a fun time.

I arrived really early to the cinema and there was already a queue of photographers and many girls awaiting.

BjMRJDAIIAAni0ZFinally they let the photographers come in and I was let in after asking. Again waited inside the cinema for Jake to arrive. In them mean time some girls commented whether if Jake would come with full bear or maybe clean shaven, had he cut his hair….? Fun to hear all those comments. Others were profesional photographers and were more interested in whether he would arrive on time or not. Cause it was late in the day. Of course I didn’t mind the waiting….

BjMK9FbIEAALth9

Then we heard the cheer outdoors and see the cameras flashes lights. And we knew he was here. When he entered the corridor first he stopped with the TV reporters and spend a good time with them answering their questions. I took some blurry photos. Awaiting for him to move down the line to the photocall spot. He was fully bearded [GC: YAY!] (bad luck for me good luck for others) and with a hair bun.

13306450943_313c18e7d2_b

BjMtRu7IQAAiF2i

When he moved there, one guy organizer warned the photographers (me :o) too) that he had some ailment in his eyes and that they should shoot for photos 3 secs and then stop and then go at it again. I think this can explain why some tweeps commented on him looking sad or tired. Nevertheless he was so charming and handsome as I remembered him. I did my best with the camera. Photo session was so short…… He wore a very nice blue suit and the brown shoes. I couldn’t help but smile… Some of you reading this (Gyllenfriends) you know why…

229

Then I run into the cinema room where my sister had kept me a place. Both the spanish movie producer (Miguel Angel Faura) and script writer (Javier Gullón) were already in the movie theatre stage and introduced themselves. They introduced a video with Denis Villeneuve I captured. Soo funy. And right after the video there came Jake down one of the theatre aisles up the stairs to the stage.

He had really warm and thankful words for the spanish movie team and the producers. And said, as you will see in the video, that is movie was his best work ever.

BjNMRduCEAE1Vpx

He moved on to say this was one of the strangest movies he had ever made. And I couldn’t help it and yelled ‘Donnie Darko’ and he replied ‘Yes, that one too’. Hey! he replied to me.

[GC: That's not captured in the video but Eureka will be sending the full version soon]

13306552674_36f3c164ec_b

Later he said he did not know which character we would identify more with if Adam or Anthony. Perhaps Anthony was more likeable for us Spaniards and here I went again I yelled ‘Yesss’, and he laughed, and audience laughed. So yes basically I was the only one in the audince saying something to him. Ha,Ha. Really I felt like I was having a conversation with me. Sounds crazy, but hey. I’m a die hard fan. As many as you are. And my only occasion to interact with him, even if it was in this ackward way and he couldn’t see me in the darknress of the room. It sure felt good!

[GC: That's freaking amazing]

Know you all know my lovely voice. ;o)

BjQEI6aCEAEdbFB

I won’t comment about the movie as so many of you have not had the chance yet to see it. I’ll just say is worth to watch but hard to get…

Bye Jake! See you soon in Madrid again.

018

And I didn’t want to end this chronicle without remembering a very dear Gyllenfriend, whom I miss so much and would have been so excited for me like you: Marzena AKA Mermon in the internet.

[GC: amen]

Hugs!

Thank you again, Eureka.

Watch this video to have an idea of the excited atmosphere and see Jake interact with people and fans. 

20140322-094421.jpg

19 thoughts on “Jake Gyllenhaal and The Beard in Madrid – Eureka’s Account

  1. Oooooh my…thanks so much for to share Eureka and thanks Gyll for the post…just have a doubt now…where the h*** did Denis find that leopard dressing gown? o.O

  2. Thanks Gyllen : I take that “I hate you” for “I envy you” :o)
    Thanks for such a lovely post. I hope it reflects all the excitement and joy I experienced.

    @13thSun: I could hear myself yelling “Donnie Darko” in tha last Premiere video. LOL.

    Hugs!

  3. Oh, those blue eyes! Eureka, how on earth did you manage to keep from swooning? I’m going nuts just to see Enemy! Thanks, GC, for posting Eureka’s report. If we can’t be with the one we love, we can at least share the experience with the one who was there with him in person. (Apologies to Crosby, Stills, and Nash for mangling those lyrics.)

  4. Loved this post! Those videos are “insane”, as Jake would say. You are one lucky girl, Eureka!

    Can’t wait to see the movie. If Jake considers it to be his best work… that’s awesome!

    • BlueJean, Eureka is indeed one lucky girl. I wish all Gyllenhaalics had the opportunity so see Jake in person, it’s an amazing experience. Enemy should premiere soon in your neck of the woods, if I’m not mistaken. I’d love to hear your toughts.

  5. Thanks so much to Eureka for the account and to Gyllencrazy for posting. It’s so much fun to read about Jake fans getting to see him in person. The Madrid appearance was such a nice surprise. We had no idea this was happening until a few weeks ago!

  6. Exactly! This guy still manages to catch us unprepared even after all these years of serious stalking LOL Now if only he could materialize on my doorstep *that* would be one hell of a surprise ;-)

  7. You are all very welcome.
    I’m happy to share the experience with you all.
    And is fun to see all the different reactions the post got.
    Regards!

  8. I saw Enemy over the weekend and it was quite an experience. First of all, it was a real road trip – 2 1/2 hour drive to Durham, NC to the nearest theater that is showing it. So I got to see some of Durham and a little bit of Duke University for the very first time. My dear husband, who kept referring to the movie as “enema” the entire drive, had been warned that he would NOT like this movie. Strange, art-house films are not my favorite at all, but who can resist double Jakes? Besides, something a little more exotic than the everyday is a nice change now and then.
    So we got to the theatre and I was so excited to actually be able to see the movie that I had to keep reminding myself to pay attention to details so I could review it all in my mind later. What a performance! Or should that be “performances”? The two characters were so distinctly different in just about every way except for looks it boggles the mind. Which is the point of the movie, I suppose. Some of Jake’s absolutely best work for sure.
    After the movie a lady exiting ahead of us turned around and said “That was such a stupid movie!” She’s obviously not a fan of The J, but her comment fueled our conversation on the long drive back home. Admittedly, the final, shocking and disturbing image leaves the viewer with a boatload of questions, but that’s part of what makes movies like this entertaining – for some people. I was entertained not only by Jake’s performance(s) but also by the mysteries contained in the story and the challenge of trying to put the puzzle pieces together in my own mind to arrive at my own answers. Husband, on the other hand, thought it was a bad movie, bad storytelling, and a waste of time. He was not entertained. (Insert “I told you so!”) He likes movies that have a clear-cut linear story line and that do not leave questions unanswered.
    So this movie is definitely not for everyone, especially husbands who are saddled with a Gyllenhaalic wife and who don’t enjoy art-house films. But for everyone else, it’s a real experience, just like Jake and Denis have been saying. Now I can’t wait for the Blu-ray to come out – when it does, I can badger my girlfriends into seeing it with me. Or, from their perspective, enduring yet another weird Jake movie with their weird Gyllenhaalic friend. One of these days they are going to plot an intervention, I just know it.

    • I was looking forward to your Enemy adventure account, thank you for sharing it here. There should be an award for the farthest distance traveled to see a Jake movie! It’s not surprising that Enemy proves to be not for everyone’s tastes but I’m glad to read praise for Jake and the film from non biased people. I haven’t had the opportunity to see it yet, which sucks, but when I do we’ll have a chat about how much of a mindfuck it is.

      By the way, your hubby is the best! Did he at least admit that Jake’s performance was good?

  9. He would never admit that he liked one of Jake’s performances. ;-) The best I’ve gotten out of him is that he liked – actually enjoyed – Prisoners. I have a feeling he might like Everest, but only because Jake’s character doesn’t survive in that one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,246 other followers

