Jake Gyllenhaal: When in Rome…

Updated to add link to a new interview for Indiewire.

A few excerpts:

I walked into “Enemy” without having read the book on which its based. I watched it as a straight up thriller until that final shot that upended everything I had seen up that point. I left this film feeling not played, but dumb. Did you get the film upon the first read?

You’re not in the select echelon of people.

I knew what Denis was going for. All I need is like an anchor, conceptually, emotionally, and he explained to me what he wanted the movie to be about. You know, he wrote a bit of a manifesto and he said, “Before you read the script, this is what I want the movie to be about. I want it to be about intimacy, struggle with identity, searching for your own and how that gets mixed up with being intimate, romantically, sexually, all those things.”

I love that idea of someone being split. Trying to kind of find their way and commit to in the end… a real relationship with his wife, who is pregnant with their child. You know, that’s to me what the movie was about. To me, that was the beautiful hopeful ending, that I thought, “Okay, that’s where he’s moving towards.” Now the irony of it is, and I don’t know if this is a spoiler, the end is cyclical because no matter what we commit to in what we decide we want our lives to be, there’s always the biological, psychological aspects that will torment us at times. You know, there’s always that snake. The snake doesn’t go away, you know what I mean? It’s always in the corner of the woods, you just need to know where it is, so you don’t step on it again. You can walk around it. And I think that’s the idea of the movie to me. There’s a lot of other shit there too.

But very simply, Denis said, “This is a movie about being a man in a relationship. and the fear and the relief in a certain type of commitment.”I was like, “Ahh, i love that idea!”

enemy-bar

In both “Prisoners” and this, you have so much going on beneath the surface — they’re performances that stick with you. It’s no coincidence they’re my two favorite performances of yours. You seem to be digging deeper than ever before in your work. Is that due to what Denis asks of you, or did you just come to a realization of sorts?

Yeah. I feel a desperate need to bring that to everything that I do. And I feel that every interaction that I have, be it in the interaction that we’re having now, or I go out on the street, whoever I see, whoever I meet, in my life, my friends, the people I love, my family… each on of those things in between each project I do is an accumulation of an experience and I want to put all those things, even if it correlates to the movie I’m doing or not. It’s all inside me, it’s how I grow. So, I don’t want deny that stuff and then go and make a movie. I want to take all that stuff with me and put it into the experience I’m having. And that’s a decision I made, I started to realize, “That moves me. Oh, I detest that. Oh…” Whatever it is, and bring it in to the performances. I think you get to a certain age where you start doing that and you’re no longer feeling that.. I don’t know (Laughs).

So I’m seeing more of you in every performance now.

I think so. I think so… I mean, I’ve become a lot more obsessed with the specificity of characters and like you said, my work, the choices I make, also being on stage was a really big evolution for me. Getting back on stage last year, I will again next year, to me, being a part of… I don’t know… I just feel more alive in what I’m doing. [GC: on stage AGAIN? now that's some news!]

I can’t explain it in any way, except the relationships I make with the people I make movies with matters to me the most and how we interact. I’m about to go do this movie about Everest with Baltasar Kormakur, directing the movie, and I know the relationship we have there, like, we will explore. I will listen to him and what he needs and then I’ll go into unknown territory for him as a result. I don’t now what that’s about. I don’t know what happened. I just know I went like, “Oh, now’s the time.” There’s no other time but now to go do it. I’m going to make a bold choice and if someone doesn’t want it they can cut it out.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Original Post

We’ve got a bunch of new juicy stuff to sink our teeth into and honestly, you sadists at the ENEMY promotion desks, can you tease us a little more?

Anyway, first things first: when in Rome do as the Romans do

Which was meant for the Roman Empire but actually means that when in Rome you’ve got to sit on sidewalks

JakeInRome

Or maybe it means that in Rome you can dress like this and get away with it

Everest

(OK maybe this has nothing to do with Ancient Romans and Jake is just shooting a film based on a tragic EVEREST expedition at the Cinecittà Studios, although why not shooting near actual mountains like someone from the crew and cast did on the Alps is beyond me)

♦♦♦

We’ve got a teaser trailer (see sadists remark above) and a new featurette

The trailer is slightly NSFW (we can see a gorgeous tit but alas, no Jake’s cheeks and no I’m not talking about his face)

Featurette #2: The Women of ENEMY

♦♦♦

We’ve got a gorgeous photoshoot and new interview for the Man of The World magazine (excerpt beneath the gallery)

“It’s taken me a long time in my career to realize that you can’t be good at everything. You sometimes have to give something up. There are limits,” the 33-year-old movie star says. “I do care about the stories people want to tell. But then I want to get back to my honest self for the directors I work with.”

Gyllenhaal believes it’s important to set boundaries at the very beginning. “The movie business is largely just stuffing actors in this place, and this place and this place,” he says, noting that he typically takes time off to regroup between projects. “But it’s time in your life that you can’t have back.” (you can pre-order issue #7 here)

♦♦♦

We’ve got new on-set photos (thanks to IHJ as always)

The next one is actually funny. If we didn’t know better one would think that Jake and Isabella Rossellini were ordering lunch with Denis Villeneuve waiting the table

008 (9)

♦♦♦

We’ve got an ENEMY official website that looks very grey and very useless

enemy-splash-rev2

(I know you’ve clicked everywhere on the page like I did)

♦♦♦

If you don’t mind VERY spoilerish interviews, here’s one with Denis Villeneuve about Enemy for Filmcomment. The interviewer gave away something that even to me (I haven’t seen the film yet) sounds like a huge spoiler. You’ve been warned.

♦♦♦

And last but not least, we’ve got a bunch of new release dates:

Canada 14 March 2014

USA 14 March 2014 (New York City, New York)

Germany 15 March 2014 (Fantasy Filmfest Nights)

Singapore 27 March 2014

Spain 28 March 2014

Germany 8 May 2014

Turkey 16 May 2014

Netherlands 29 May 2014

Portugal 18 June 2014

♦♦♦

Now we only have to wait

ManoftheWorld4

20140301-200051.jpg

20140301-200105.jpg

20140301-200125.jpg

6 thoughts on “Jake Gyllenhaal: When in Rome…

  1. Oh, GC, those photos! They take my breath away! It’s so nice to see Jake’s face – unlike now, when it appears he’s zoomed past the Prince-Dastan-of-Persia look and landed squarely in the middle of old-testament-patriarch for filming Everest. Was he cast as a climber or as a Yeti?
    BTW, I have discovered a small cinema nearby (only about 20 minutes away!) that specializes in foreign-language, independent, and art-house films. My fingers are crossed that Enemy will show up there one day. It will probably be much later in the year than March 14, but eventually… My hopes are high! In the meantime, I plan to supplement my steady diet of bloated Hollywood big-screen fare with frequent tastier, quirkier, more satisfying films. It means I will probably be going alone, but that’s okay.

  2. I did and it was depressing. :-( Richmond is not on the list. Looks like I need to plan a road trip to North Carolina just for Enemy. It won’t be easy convincing others that a road trip is necessary just to see a movie, but I’m determined!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,246 other followers

