It. Is. For. A. Role.

I know guys, it’s been a long while. I’m not a reliable blogger but someone’s got to pay the bills and my cat couldn’t be bothered…She just sits there every morning at the crack of dawn when I’m ready to go to work with that puzzled where-do-you-go-every-morning-anyway face. Then I glance back at her before shutting the door and she’s wearing a bored whatever-just-bring-food face. Cats. Gotta love them.

Anyway, I know I haven’t been around for the Prisoners big parade but I was a) busy taking a vacation in New York, thank you very much and b) sucked into an endless series of deadlines the likes of which I haven’t seen often during my career so I apologize – not for the first time and I’m afraid not for the last – for having neglected this blog.

Forgiven?

The David Poland 30 minutes interview for Prisoners, I could listen to him talking for hours.

Sorry but no, I won’t discuss his weight loss for his new movie ‘Nightcrawler’, there are enough people doing it already. I’ll just say this: hello?, it’s for A ROLE!

007 (2)

0529

01250

01444

01735

03219

tumblr_mun4h7CEY81rzpgopo1_1280

 

8 thoughts on “It. Is. For. A. Role.

  1. L.O.L. I know exactly how you feel. I think we all know it’s not his best look but all the pearl-clutching is too much.

    Thanks for the Dave Poland link. I hadn’t even heard of it!

    • I know right? And I’ll say more. Maybe because I’m a cynical SOB but I know there are people out there who are hoping he is sick, or that he will get sick. I can see it from the search engine terms that lead to my blog ‘What’s wrong with Jake Gyllenhaal’ ‘Is Jake Gyllenhaal sick?’ and the best of all ‘What kind of disease does Jake Gyllenhaal have?’

      Honestly, people!

  2. Lovely post starting with cute cat’s story and believable apology! :)
    I enjoyed Jake’s interview very much. What a present for us! He’s charming and as always says interesting things with his mouthwatering voice.
    When I found out that Lou from Nightcrawler is constantly hungry, now when I see slim Jake talking, I see this hunger in the movement of his lips and in the depth of his look! And I feel pain in my stomach too.
    PS: Hello from my cat to yours!

    • Thanks for saying it was a believable apology! LOL The interview was great. By looking at Jake I felt like I was already seeing Lou.

      This is Jake Gyllenhaal for you.

      P.S. Yep, I’m a cat purrson.
      P.P.S. My cat says that she doesn’t talk to strangers but she can be waved at, if you really must LOL!

  3. Glad to see you back, G.C. Hope you enjoyed your NYC vacation and also hoping the deadlines ease up a little for you. Of course you are forgiven! Though I am between feline companions right now, I know what you mean about loving cats. They may seem aloof and indifferent most of the time, but I know it’s just an act. As long as they are pampered, well fed, allowed to sleep anywhere, not shut out of any room in the house, and not expected to do a damn thing, they get along quite well with humans. Most of the time. :-)
    Lou looks quite scroungy doesn’t he? Amazing what difference a hairstyle can make in one’s overall appearance. I’m already looking forward to seeing Nightcrawler. But I’ll say it again – what’s wrong with a lighter, comedic role once in a while? You know, just for a change. Couldn’t hurt, could it?

    • Thanks Susan, great to see you’re still reading.

      LOL that’s cats for you, right?

      Well, Lou looks indeed scroungy, and hungry. A hairstyle and a few pounds less can do this to you, namely make you an incredibly dedicated actor. Or at least this is all I’m seeing in Jake’s transformation.

      And listening to the DP interview, don’t you get the feeling like he’s already taken residence into Lou’s skin?

      As for a lighter role, I hear you. Jake seems to be favoring darker roles lately but he has shown that he can amuse as well, so who knows. Like Picasso’s phases, this is Jake’s ‘dark period’.

  4. Hey, GC, what do you make of the news that Nailed might be resurrected after all? Nailed movie
    As much as I would love to see it, I’m sort of hoping it doesn’t get a theatrical release – just a good old straight-to-disc will be just fine. It’s only because Jake is so hot now with all the buzz from Prisoners and his role in Nightcrawler and Everest that people might be thinking they could finally make a few bucks from the unfinished Nailed.
    I asked for a comedy, and I read about Nailed. I should start asking for world peace, huh? ;-)

    • I’d be perfectly happy with Nailed never being released, honestly. The plot has no appeal at all to me and not only because I’m not into comedies. It would be a film I would watch only because I’m a Jake fan and I would watch him reading a phone book in a silent movie. You try wishing for world peace, though, one never knows LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,167 other followers

