‘The Great Gatsby’ narrated by Jake Gyllenhaal

You can download it here (from the US and from outside of the US)

And you can listen to 20 minutes of samples clicking below

“We are thrilled to bring this remarkable new recording of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s masterpiece to our listeners,” said Audible EVP and Publisher Beth Anderson. “Jake Gyllenhaal’s subtle pacing of the narrative and his portrayal of these fabulous characters showcase his versatility as an actor. Fans of his theater and film work will love hearing Jake’s interpretation of Gatsby.”

full press release

♦♦♦

It’s April 9. Have you all ordered The Great Gatsby narrated by Jake Gyllenhaal?

If you haven’t decided yet, here is a good reason

Jake’s voice

©2012 David Burnett/Contact Press Images

©2012 David Burnett/
Contact Press Images

♦♦♦

I haven’t disappeared folks, I’m ready in fact to come back. Just watch this space and in the meantime pre-order

The Great Gatsby audiobook 

narrated by our very own Jake (available from 4-9-2013 thanks to audible.com):

F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic American novel of the Roaring 20s is beloved by generations of readers and stands as his crowning work. This new audio edition, authorized by Fitzgerald’s estate, is narrated by Oscar-nominated actor Jake Gyllenhaal (Brokeback Mountain). Gyllenhaal’s performance is a faithful delivery in the voice of Nick Carraway, the Midwesterner turned New York bond salesman, who rents a small house next door to the mysterious millionaire Jay Gatsby. There, he has a firsthand view of Gatsby’s lavish West Egg parties – and of his undying love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan.

This special audio edition joins the upcoming film – as well as many other movie, radio, theater, and even video-game adaptations – as a fitting tribute to the cultural significance of Fitzgerald’s Jazz Age classic, widely regarded as one of the greatest stories ever told.

I ADORE Fitzgerald. And I might have already shared what Jake’s voice does to my…uh…heart. I can foresee multiple listenings to this audio-book. 

Roll on 4-9-2013!

25 thoughts on “‘The Great Gatsby’ narrated by Jake Gyllenhaal

  1. Hi, GC! I pre-ordered mine yesterday. Now counting the days to April 9… Good to be reading you again and I’m looking forward to being able to read you more often. Sending happy thoughts your way.

    • Hi Susan!

      I just had a 5 minutes break from ‘real life’ and was able to post about it just now.

      Jake reading for you, and The Great Gatsby of all the books! Isn’t that amazing? I’m not a fan of audio-books but hey, it’s Jake talking right into your ears, that’s enough to send me to heaven.

      Hope life is treating you well Susan, and yep, I’ll be back to pester you with posts very soon.

      Thanks for sticking with GC!

  2. So the riddle is solved! We were wondering what kind of audiobook it may be. Great Gatsby is a great choice! :)
    I love that book. At last someone got an idea to use Jake’s fantastic voice, created to be listened to.
    That FB post is interesting. And the guy is pastor. I never heard that homosexual marriage is possible for pastors. Cool. And very lucky to have Jake at his home. Comments are interesting too.
    Gyllen, I hope that your promise to be more often here means that the things are better in your RL. Greetings!

    • Hello Marzena,

      Real Life is being a pain in the ass as usual but I’m starting to feel more balanced. I just need to prioritize.

      I can’t even imagine having Jake shooting a scene in my house…or sitting on my sofa *gasps*

      And I wonder how was this house better than others, I mean, what is it that they saw there that convinced them that that was the one?

      Yeah, too cool about the Minister and his husband, that was a nice surprise.

  3. Let’s have a hope, sunny days will come eventually.
    “Jake Gyllenhaal comes to the door as a police officer to confront a wealthy sex offender.” – sounds very intriguing. As we may get from the Pastor’s sides, he likes Jake and is very excited to have him on his sofa, as we would be certainly! Seeing the movie we have to figure out that scene. Some people are just very lucky. Shooting tonight. I hope he will write some more about it.

  4. Hahaha! Think of it this way, GC. That is not Jake’s hair. That is Detective Loki’s hair style. After this movie we will get to see actual Jake’s actual hair again, sooner or later. Personally, I would prefer sooner.

    How weird is it that now I’m jealous of a Pastor? And how lucky he is to live in a nice house in the suburbs of Atlanta? That could have been MY nice house in the suburbs of Atlanta – why didn’t my husband get that job 10 years ago?!

  5. I would prefer yesterday LOL

    I don’t think it’s weird at all that you’re jealous of a Pastor. Besides, it’s the two of us. A Pastor – who clearly digs Jake – and his husband having Jake walk inside and move around their own house? that beats it all. I have killed for much less.

    Just kidding.

    Anyway, I agree, it should have been your house.

  6. Thanks so much for posting the link to Jake’s reading of the opening! I am trying to hang on until the 9th and desperately trying to clear my schedule so I can spend all day listening to that gorgeous voice. Maybe three times back-to-back-to-back will be enough for the first day…

    • Yeah, I’m pretty much dying here waiting for the whole thing. This teaser is cruel. As for clearing up one’s schedule I’m trying to do the same but to no avail. Too bloody busy, at least during the day. I’ll probably listen to it instead of sleeping at night. In bed. Uhmmm.

  7. I’ve listened to it 4 times already. Jake’s voice is so mouthwatering, if I may say so. It sounds excellently, every word is so clear and all this is so melodious/dulcet. I have no idea, how I will get it, but I’m looking forward to own it!
    Hello, by the way! You are invisible, but still keeping an eye on things!

    • Hello dear TwitterQueen, yeah I’m still around, trying desperately to find a way to get my private life back but to no avail. I won’t give up though and of course I’m keeping an eye on all things Jake and on you Gyllengang, too!

      LOL at mouthwatering, of course you can say that, it fits perfectly ;-) don’t worry, we’ll find a way for you to have it, Gyllenhaalics help each other (or so they should).

      • It sounds like a promise! Would be great, if it’s any chance. I wish you to have more private time. It’s not possible to work only and sleep. Man needs some entertaining too!

  8. Those 20 extra minutes of Jake’s reading Great Gatsby is priceless!
    Do you have your original audiobook already?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,246 other followers

