New Eyes for the Needy celebration – Jake honored

Jake was honored at the New Eyes For The Needy 80th Anniversary Gala tonight. He must have missed a couple of appointments with the barber. Not that I’m complaining.

With New Eyes for the Needy President Clelia Biamonti

Colicchio & Sons Restaurant – New Eyes for the Needy 80th Anniversary

How nice to see that Annie Funke and Brian F. O’Byrne,
Jake’s co-protagonists in the play If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet, were there too

Heather Goldenhersh, Brian F. O’Byrne and Annie Funke

Heather Goldenhersh, Brian F. O’Byrne, Annie Funke, Lake Bell and Scott Campbell

With sportscaster Joe Buck

In the meantime, End of Watch is slowly but surely, nation by nation, conquering Europe. Press is talking about it, video and audio interviews are being released, cinema blogs are uttering the O-word for both Jake and Michael. We’ll see how it goes. I might have mentioned before that I don’t care much for the Oscars. I’ll admit that winning one is undoubtedly important and probably career-boosting in a way but in terms of rewarding quality in films and actor performances there have been such huge missteps in the past that I’m not holding by breath anymore. That said, I hope Jake at one time of his career brings one home, if not more.


Speaking of cinema blogs and press and interviews, here are a few samples.

From IndieWire and their phone-call interview with Jake

Of all the dark horse Oscar hopefuls this year, none deserves more consideration than Jake Gyllenhaal for his role as an LA cop in David Ayer’s “End of Watch.” It’s such a competitive year for leading actors that I hope this performance in a this well-reviewed indie film will be seen. Critics groups may give it some attention.

Anne Thompson: You’re on a roll: you got your best reviews to date for your latest film ‘End of Watch’ as well as your off-Broadway play If There Is, I Haven’t Found It Yet.’

Jake Gyllenhaal: I don’t read them. I find it overwhelming; the stage work is still alive, so those type of things get in your head. It’s best not to think in terms of that, it ends up affecting you, whether it’s good or bad. So I stay away and do my work.


AT: Did you make a recent change in your approach to choosing projects?

JG: It was a perfect storm of a lot of things happening. The reality of life itself was hitting me hard, at 30. It was not a calculation. I had spent the majority of my 20s blessed by being able to work consistently. I grew up thinking I understood the business of making movies. I got to a point where I said, ‘What do I want my life be? It’s about more than career.’ So I don’t put my career before my life anymore.

In my 20s, I did start off very young, there was a sense of searching for identity anywhere. The movie business presents you with an identity and you put it on. You play different characters. As an actor it’s rare to find someone in my age range who is able to define themselves clearly at a young age.

There’s that my parents got divorced two years ago; I have two nieces now. I started looking at work as trying to learn about my life as opposed to strategizing. I never thought about my work that way, never with a sense of objectivity. I was inspired by a piece of writing or a director or a character. It was not a question or discussion of doing one big one, one small one.

What has really happened: I was saying to myself, ‘how do I feel most free?’ If I am blessed with the opportunity to do good work, studio or indie, most of the time it has to do with the interaction with the director, to try to help the director toward the vision he always had. I have to do more than expected from the character I’m trying to play.


AT: How did ‘End of Watch’ play into this period?

JG: I sat down with David Ayer. He  said, ‘if you want to make this movie you have to devote your life. It is going to affect your soul.’ At the time, that was the reason I did the movie, which has been marketed as a big cop genre action movie. Ultimately it’s not really, this movie is about the relationship between two guys and how much they love and would do anything for each other. That’s why I did the movie, was the heart of it. The sense of originality is what inspires me to do something when I read something, not that it’s a cop genre movie, which is done a lot. It’s not to learn how to hold gun and shoot actual rounds at a target. At inception this idea has a huge beating heart, David was embarrassed about what he wrote about, that was it to me.

AT: What changed?

JG: My philosophy has always been to be a diligent worker, have a good work ethic, more than anything. Now it’s, ‘how can what I do, or a movie coming out, what relationships can I make, be in people’s lives I care about, how will it inform my life, when it comes out?’ Reading reviews I don’t care about, I know whatI’ve done, I’ve gotten what I want, I’ve been totally fulfilled and then some.

AT: Are you plumbing more of your dark side?

JG: Of course I’m not running from it, not at all. I’m embracing it. I always have, just because you like to be good people and respect people, thinking about them outside yourself, doesn’t mean you’re running from darkness. I’ve always embraced that, played Donnie Darko. To suggest that a human being is more complicated than people assume objectively is a fair assessment. You will see in the future more things come out that will  hopefully surprise you. It happens all the time. (read the whole interview here)

From the enthusiastic crew of Screen Geeks UK and their interview with Jake

End of Watch is released this week, and is comfortably one of our films of the year. An intense thriller that shines in quieter moments between leads Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Pena.

Our friends at Filmbeat caught up with Gyllenhaal while he was around this week – check out the video below to see what the Donnie Darko star has to say about playing a cop, shooting action and the chemistry he shares with his co-star.

End of Watch gets 5 stars from MSN UK

What did we think? Magnificent. The dynamic of hand-held cameras wielded by Gyllenaal’s officer works wonderfully and the relationship between the two leads, on which the whole things hinges, is cinema gold. It’s instantly one of the best cop movies ever.

[...] Gyllenhaal and Michael Pena were in and amongst the real LAPD during the filming of End Of Watch and it shows at every turn in one of the best buddy movies you’ll ever see. Their relationship is the cornerstone of a uniquely powerful crime flick.

[...] As they find a way to survive, they become ever closer and it’s here that End Of Watch finds an astonishing degree of authenticity. We haven’t felt so close to two movie characters in ages. It’s simply outstanding.

5 starsVerdict: The ultimate cop movie? It’s hard to see it being bettered.

♦♦♦

Meanwhile, outside the Laura Pels theater…

Don’t forget that you can still cast your vote for Jake in People’s choice favorite dramatic actor category here

10 thoughts on “New Eyes for the Needy celebration – Jake honored

  1. Hi GC! Thanks for all the great photos from the New Eyes For The Needy Gala. So nice to see Jake and other celebrities supporting a worthy cause in a relatively quiet – yet elegant – way. I can totally agree with your sentiments about the worth of an Oscar (undoubtedly important and probably career-boosting in a way but in terms of rewarding quality in films and actor performances there have been such huge missteps in the past that I’m not holding by breath anymore), but Oscar buzz does have some value in the marketing of a movie. At this point I’m happy with almost anything that gets people into the theater to see his awesome performance in a truly great film. They should leave the theater wanting more Jake in more roles in more movies!

    • I agree with you, of course. I know how an Oscar nod, not to mention an Oscar won, can titillate moviegoers’ curiosity and drag their arses to the theaters. Whatever it takes I’m all for it. I’m reading more and more comments from people who either saw End of Watch or the play or both who think that Jake is underrated. It makes me happy to see that people are realizing – better late than never – how good he is and how poorly rewarded for his skill he’s been so far.

  2. Nice that Jake participates in such events, that he follows his granddad path. Cool. I have to admit, that though I’m not a beard lover in general, Jake sports it fantastically! I like his curly shining hair. When to look at his pics enlarged – beard and hair are so nice, seem soft and healthy looking. :)
    Let’s cross fingers for Jake’s Oscar’s nomination and winning.
    Interviews are very fine! I’m voting daily! Let’s make him win!

    • You’re not the first one to notice how soft his beard and hair look from the pics LOL I guess we’ll never know. As an interviewer had to say to him recently, going bald sure is not on his list of concerns. I’m glad to read that the beard is starting to grow on you *pun not intended* LOL Fingers crossed indeed and let’s keep voting.

  3. Jake looks happy and relax. thanks for these lovely reviews and pics. By the way, GC, do you know when Jake will be in London?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,167 other followers

